Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups, and all members of the group receive the same grade (mark) on the project. Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to evaluate students?

Evaluation method is one of the most, if not the most, aspects of education. Even if they are not equal, they are closely intertwined with each other. When it comes to evaluating students' performance individually or in the groups there are different ideas. While some people think it is better to grade students by accomplishing projects in a team, others, including me, think it is better to score students individually. I will elaborate on my perspective on the following paragraphs.

First, doing tasks in a group and giving the same grade to all members of it sow the seeds of a notorious phenomena called "social loafing." Knowing that no matter how much they participate in accomplishing assignments they will gian same scores, some students may shirk their responsibility to their diligent teammates. Even worse, they could easily make others scapegoat for their wrongdoing and refuse any contribution. This kind of behavior ultimately will end up a dramatic decrease in motivation and interest of those students who took their responsibility by heart and soul. They find it unfair to gain the same as their lazy teammates, which probably sets the stage for an open hostility in their relationship, even after the project becomes finished.

Secondly, evaluation is not just a thing to give scores, it also is an opportunity to find out students' positive points and drawbacks to help them find a solution before attending university or other parts of society. When teachers grade students based on the projects done by a group of students, although they realize plus points and poor sections, they could not attribute to which student for sure. Therefore, this kind of evaluation is not beneficial because it is not along with the essential goal of education: correcting mistakes and nurturing talents of every individual separately.

In conclusion, it is better to evaluate every student by projects they accomplished exclusively because scoring them in a group paves the way for social loafing, which increase the chance of weakening the students relationship and experiencing hatred toward their classmates, and assignments that done by group did not provide necessary information for a customized education, which help students to overcome their problems.