Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups, and all the members of the group receive the same grade (mark) on the project. Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to evaluate students?

Nowadays, teachers prefer to get students’ scores by forcing them to do some projects in groups. It leads to something that teachers give their students the same points in a group. In my opinion, I disagree this idea because it is so unfair that such scores do not reflect students’ efforts and study abilities and make students lazier.

Firstly, it is obvious that scores show students’ study abilities and attempts. Thus, students who have the same points have the same abilities in their studies. However, when students do projects in a group, there is often someone who do more work and someone who do less work. Therefore, in this case, the same scores for students in the same groups do not show their study abilities clearly, which reduces the purpose of the scores. Moreover, scores are sometimes motivations which help students improve their study gradually. Some students look at their scores to try their best to do better in the next time. When they have bad points, they will try to study harder to reach their desired points. Meanwhile, when they have good points, they will try to maintain their points. Some students try to have good points, which helps them receive their teachers and parents’ compliments, which promotes them to study better. Nevertheless, when teachers give the same points for students in the same groups, which means that students who study better and students who study worse have the same scores, students tend to be bored with their study and try to get good scores by other ways not by their efforts.

Secondly, when teachers get students’ scores by this way, students are likely to be lazier. This is because students feel that students who study better and students who study worse have the same scores, they will find other ways to get good points without trying best. One of these ways is to attend into a good group, which means that they just attend the group and do nothing, just wait for the best students to do all and receive the same point that these best students receive. This makes students lazier as they think that they can get good scores without doing anything. My friend’s experience is an example of this. When she was in the secondary school, she always tried her best in her first two years. Then, in the third year, our teachers changed their way to get our points to force us to do projects in groups. At first, my friend tried a lot to get good points but then she realized that the score she received was just the same as the score some students did not do anything. Gradually, she became bored with her study and lazier so she just joined a good group and received good points that did not reflect her real study abilities and efforts.

In conclusion, I do not agree the idea of giving the same points for students in the same groups because these scores did not only reflect anything true about their abilities and attempts but also make them lazier.