Nowadays people are more willing to help people they don't know (for example, by giving clothing and food to people who need them) than they were in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples

It goes without saying that in this progressive and sophisticated world, where we live, helping other people is one of the most important issues. There has been a controversial debate among people living in the present era as to whether people in the past were more supportive. From my perspective, nowadays people do not care about other individuals as their ancestor did, and two reasons to support my viewpoint are presented as follows.

To begin with, in this era people are more independent and they are not willing to help or donate money to charity. It is not a secret to anyone our counterparts living in the past were rely on each other to do different tasks, they were therefore helpful and supportive since they needed others' assistance. Needing people's help, they had to be helpful as well in order to guarantee they would be supported in the future. But, in today's world people are not dependent; we are witnessing that individuals being young or old are relying on themselves and there is no need to get help, meaning they are not inclined to aid other members of their communities, so people will help each other when they need it too and because in this era the majority of people are independent they do not support others. To put it in more vivid picture, my grandfather told me an story about his own experience when he was young he was used to helping farmers in his village since he needed their assistance too, but when he left the village and migrate to a city center after twenty years and became more independent, he was not the same person advocated his neighbors. Had my grandfather not become independent, he would be a supportive man.

Furthermore, through the passage of time, people's beliefs, opinions, and even culture will change. It is crystal clear in this temporary world by the advent and development of science and technology we have different beliefs and moral principles. Although all those living in the past were not good people, there were some moral principles and disciplines whereby individuals would be admired because of their assistance and donations; on the other hand in this time, rarely do people care about the value of helping since the important concepts have been changed, as a result when there is no encouragement to do good, people do not prefer to do so.

In sum, taking aforementioned reasons and examples into account, I disagree with the statement. Not only have people become independent, but their opinions and traditions have been changed as well.