o you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

I agree that young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives today than young people in the past. My reason is that knowledge and money are the most important factors when making decisions, and young people today don’t depend on parents to acquire them. Besides, if they need more advice, they ask friends rather than parents.

In the first place, nowadays young people acquire knowledge easier than young men did in the past, so they are better able to make decisions about their own lives. For example, the internet is well developed today, and young people use the internet to get a huge amount of information regarding their questions. Once they have enough information young people can make decisions immediately. In contrast, twenty years ago, people had fewer resources to gain knowledge. The main resources included newspaper and TV programs, which provided very limited information compared to the internet. Consequently, the knowledge and experience of elder people were very important so young people at the time relied on their parents to make decisions.

In addition, young people today are more financially independent and as a result, they are cable of making decisions about their own lives without financial support from their parents. For example, many schools provide programs that allow students earn money by taking part-time jobs. Also, there are many scholarships for which students can apply to attend colleges. However, in the past, students had no financial support from other than their parents, so they must accept their parents’ advice when making decisions. That is, financial independence enables students to make decisions based on their own willingness nowadays.

Last but not least, nowadays young generation relies on friends more than on the parents to make decisions. To be more specific, modern kids make friends in their early childhood and they spend most of the time hanging out with friends. As a consequence, friends have a big impact on how they think. In other words, the weight of their parents’ words becomes less. Nevertheless, a few decades ago children spent most of the time with parents because they did not have the chance to go to school. Therefore, parents played a major role when their kids made decisions.

In conclusion, I believe that young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them in the past. Today, young generation plays the main role in making decisions about their own lives, because they are able to acquire the information they need by themselves, and they don’t have to rely on their parents for money. Furthermore, friends have a bigger impact on modern kids since they are little.