At one high school, more of the students than ever before have been caught cheating on their homework assignments. For example, many of students have asked other students to provide them with answers for assignment. The school is considering making a change to help decrease the number of students who cheat on homework. Which one of the following actions do you think will be most effective? And why?

-Asking parents to monitor their children as they do their homework and confirm their children have not cheated

-increasing the penalty (punishment) for cheating

-Asking teachers to create homework assignments that will make it more difficult for students to cheat

teachers and parents are currently attaching great importance to fostering education levels to prepare students for a bright future. however, some educational problems such as cheating have been a concern of teachers and parents, which cannot be neglected. In this situation, some people claim that the best way to solve this is the involvement of parents, who know their children a lot. others believe that the harder homework will be helpful since students would choose to take the assignment seriously if the assignments for each student are different. Nevertheless, based on what I have experienced, I assert that strict punishment is the most effective way to stop students from cheating. The reasons and examples are as follows.

To begin with, severe punishment contributes to carving an in-depth lesson to the students, so they will avoid making the same mistake in the future. To be more specific, students have high self-esteem and fear being criticized in public. A punishment in front of all the classmates will make those cheating students feel disgraceful and ashamed. No one likes to have a lousy self-image on others, especially on the classmates who get along with them every day. To maintain self-image and leave a favorable impression on classmates, those cheating students will try to study harder. Here comes a concrete example of myself. when I was in high school, I was the last ten students in the class. those complicated physical exercises drove me crazy occasionally. what's worse, my physics teacher would ask me to explain some of my errors to him face to face. it was a nightmare for me. In order to avoid this, I came up with the idea that is checking my answer with classmates secretly before submitting my assignments, which disobeyed my teacher's rule since this homework cannot reflect how I understand the points indeed. Fortunately, he found what I was doing and gave me sever punishment right there in front of my classmates. After that, I made my mind to crack physics and rebuild my self-image because I do not want to be laughed at and looked down upon. Hence, I studied day and night, previewing and reviewing the textbook, doing exercises over time. Finally, I got A-plus when I graduated from high school. this is an example that can support my opinion that some punishment helps to stop students cheating.

however, in many cultures, adolescents are notoriously rebelling, which makes me doubt that the help from parents would work. it is possible that if only plays a minor role to stop them from cheating. As for the third option, creating a hard assignment is not as easy as it may sound. this kind of work generally means that teachers need to devote extra time, sacrifice weekends, and leisure time to accomplish this tough work. however, it does not solve the problem fundamentally. The harder homework is, the more challenge students will feel, which contributes to fulfilling their fun of cheating.

From the analysis above, I would reiterate my point that punishing is the most beneficial way to stop students from cheating.