In order to become financially responsible adults, children should learn to manage their own money at young age.

Over the past several decades, our society has witnessed and experienced radical changes in each and every aspect of our lives. Nevertheless, the controversy of whether children should learn to manage their own money at a young age in order to become financially responsible adults still remains debated. Personally, I believe that getting previous experience on how to manage one's money, plays a prominent role when it comes to preparing children to become financially responsible individuals in the future. I feel this way mainly because of two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

In the first place, it is an undeniable fact that the only way how people can become proficient in something is by investing enormous effort and time in that activity. Thus, if parents desire to educate their children to become financially responsible in the future, they need to give their children the opportunity to apply skills and techniques to real-life situations from a young age. My own experience is a compelling example of this. The day that I turned eight years old, my parents decided to award me money whenever I did a household chore. As a result, I was provided with a small income from a young age and acquired numerous abilities and knowledge on how to efficiently manage my money. Now that I am an adult, I am able to manage my money responsibly on account of the previous training I had. In other words, if children equip themselves with the skills to manage their money at a young age, it is very likely that they will become very efficient and responsible adults.

In the second place, from my point of view, children who experience the consequences of not managing money well at a young age are susceptible of becoming more financially responsible than those inexperienced children. To be more precise, if a child undergoes negative experiences, he or she will recall them in the future and avoid making the same financial mistake. Adults who have not learned to manage their own money at a young age, on the other hand, do not have any financial experience and tend to explore every risk. To illustrate this point, I will give my college as an example. I met my college Tom two years ago when I started to work in a company located in South Korea. He usually spends his income unwisely and most of the time, lacks the money to pay his bills (even though he receives a high salary). Later, I learned that he had never learned how to manage his money properly and thus, is always struggling financially in life.

To conclude, acquiring experiences and applying skills in life is the best way to teach children how to become financially responsible. Therefore, based on the arguments mentioned above, I definitely agree with the statement that in order to become financially responsible adults, children should learn to manage their own money at a young age.