Parents give their children weekly money to buy whatever they want.Some people think this can cause bad habits and ideas about money in children.Others think the opposite.

Currently, there is a heated argument on whether kids should receive a weekly allowance from their parents.It is not easy to make a decision without considering the reasons for both arguments and analysing the benefits of each option.Although some people hold an opposing view to this, actually, I think children receiving weekly pay in order to get themselves things is a good idea.My decision is based on the following reasons, which I will explore in my body paragraphs.

First of all,kids can always develop contentment when they receive money from their parents.To be more specific, when children do not get money from their parents they are likely to engage in bad act such as stealing.Moreover, they can go as far as breaking people’s home to steal their belongings.In contrast, receiving money from their parents make them develop self- contentment.Even though people try to entice them with attractive things, they are unlikely to be moved.My son and my neighbour are stunning examples of this.When my son was ten-years-old, I used to give him money to get some toys or rather get some biscuits and I discovered that he is always satisfied with whatever he gets from me.On one beautiful Saturday, my sister gave my son the sum of two hundred dollars but he refused.In fact, she was surprised and I had to tell her the reason which was the weekly pay he receives from me.Whereas, my neighbour’s daughter was sent home from school because she stole one of her classmate’s money.While the teacher was asking the reason she did that, she said her mum does not give her money to get snacks and as a result, she needed to steal.This example illustrates why parents should give their children pocket money.

What's more, one of the ways children can be brave and independent is when they receive money through their parents.To explain broadly, they can never be intimidated because they can always speak anytime.Even when accused wrongly, they can always defend themselves.For example, one of my friends took my son to her place for the mid term break.While my friend was leaving for work, she left the sum of a thousand dollars in her room without going with her key.On getting back come, she couldn’t find the money.So she asked my son and he told him he saw the housemaid when she entered the room.In fact, he was not scared, he said all this rightly in front of the maid.Therefore, my friend had to reward him because of his braveness.

In light of the reasons mentioned, I think kids should always receive pocket money from their parents.This is because it prevents them from practising illegal acts and it also serves as a way of increasing their self confidence.