People should know events happening around the world even if they have little influence on their daily lives.

Undoubtedly, paying no attention to the events which do not have an immediate impact on our lives may save our time to do other more crucial things. However, we will lose a precious opportunity to broaden our horizon. Therefore, I could hardly agree more with the statement that people should know events happening around the world even if they are not relative to our daily lives, the reasons for which would be illustrated as follows.

Initially, learning about events happening all over the world have several merits for our study and work. For one thing, it will improve our academic performance. If we follow the latest news happening in the global world, even though they seem to have little influence on our daily lives, our interests will be triggered to learn more knowledge in a broader domain. The news concerning economy, military and politics would motivate us to do more academic research in various area. As a result, our academic performance will be improved. For another, it will lay a solid foundation for our future career. To state it more clearly, the current corporations require employees to have a good command of various expertise such as knowing policies in different countries and financial trends in international capital market. Hence, if we could learn more about what is happening around the world, we would obtain more precious working expertise and experiences. In this way, we will win more competitiveness, which paves the way for our future career. Therefore, only with the help of knowledge of the world events, can I enjoy such merits.

In addition, knowing about events happening around the world enables us to maintain a life-long relationship with our friends and make new acquaintance with others. Watching televisions and reading newspapers make us have more common topics with our friends. Hence, the relationship would be maintained. For instance, I am keen on reading news about NBA sports events. During lunch time I could share such things like which basketball player is more skillful or which sports team ranks higher with my friends. Gradually, more classmates are willing to join us and talk with us. Therefore, I make more friends and enlarge my social circle. On the contrary, if I don’t pay attention to the NBA sports events, I would just enjoy my lunch without talking with my fellows, it is hard for me to make new acquaintance as well as maintain relationship with them. In conclusion, but for the help of knowing the international events, I would not have established such a close rapport with my friends.

In a nutshell, based on my own experiences and social demands , I tend to believe that people should know events happening around the world even if they are not relative to our daily lives.