Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allow to play them

If I have to be honest, I don’t like computer games, I found them boring and tedious, I prefer to do something more active with my free time, like exercise, but my brother enjoys them a lot, I can say he is a fan of computer games and video games in general, he has a lot of them.

Although I don’t like video games, I don’t think they are a waste of time, because they help develop many mental and motor skills.

But I can understand why some people think about that way because I used to think the same thing, because like I said, I don’t like computer games.

Until one day, I talked to my brother about this topic, and he explained to me the benefits of computer games and why he likes to play. I also read a few blogs and articles about this subject, and I came up with three reasons to change my opinion.

The first reason is that improve the creativity and hard work, because the player has to win every level until he or she finishes the entire game, and in order to do that, the player has to be ingenious and think a form to complete each level; this requires patience, and the ability to face defeat and still keep trying.

I remember my brother playing for hours for one single level of the game “The Lord of the Rings”, I sat beside him and I watched him lose and keep trying. I saw how he found weapons, skills sets, and supplies, how he also found new ways to get into The Two Towers until he won and defeat Saruman.

The second reasons is that it increases the player attention and reflexes because they need to concentrate not just in their character, but also in their surroundings. The player needs to be ready for changes in the game.

There are games where you can play in teams, in that case, every one of the players in the team need to be aware of their own character and their team´s characters to accomplish the goal or just to win the level.

And the last reason is, that they can make friends, not just in their communities, but anywhere, with the internet, players can play with people on the other side of the world.

Computer games are very popular between children and young people, and there are many convention and reunions to play, exchange computer games or just to talk about a particular game and give each other advice on how to win the level. These places are great to meet people with the same interests and likes.

My brother has made new friends in this way, and sometimes they meet to play during weekends, and they borrow each other computer games, so, I think in some way, this helps them to save money.

These are my reasons to change my point of view about computer games, but I can´t say that in excess computer games can be a waste of time, and I think like everything has disadvantages, but I guess if parents establish rules since the moment kids started playing there shouldn’t be any problem with computer games.