Q18. When you face a difficult problem in life, what do you feel is the best way to solve it?

asking someone with more experience for advice about the problem

finding information about the problem using the Internet

taking a long time to think about the problem

Use specific details and examples in your answer. Do not use memorized examples.

There are different approaches when facing problems, and it is critically important to solve it in a way that best fits you. Personally, I believe that getting tips from someone with experience is the best solution. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in my subsequent paragraphs.

Firstly, a person who experienced the same concern can identify the problem and offer a solution, which allows the individual to gain specific alternatives to fix the issue. A person who's experienced the same trouble also knows how one should feel, so the adviser can not just offer detailed solutions that best suit one when solving a particular struggle, but can also empathize with the individual. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. About two years ago, I was having difficulties in raising my test scores. So, I asked my older sister on how she improved her grades when she was in high school. My sister also struggled with her exams, and I thought that she could give me a few tips. She offered me some advice on how to learn more effectively for each subject. Consequently, after I followed her studying techniques, my test results improved, and I was very thankful for my sister. Therefore, my example portrays one significant benefit that I gained by asking an experienced person.

Secondly, I believe that talking directly with someone who's experienced a similar concern is the shortest route in gaining tips compared to the latter two choices. Discussing the situation with someone who was in the same situation can guide the individual to the most effective and suitable path, which is beneficial for the individual as they can tackle one’s issue without consuming a lot of time and effort. Drawing from my experience, I faced several challenges when I was editing my speech video for the first time last summer. To tackle several problems, I first searched on the internet, but because there was abundant information, I couldn’t sort out which source was reliable, and it took me a lot of time to answer a few questions. However, after I turned to help from my father, who often edits videos at his workplace, he taught me how to effectively use editing software and fundamental skills. It only took me about an hour to master the editing process. If I hadn’t asked my father for help, I would have taken a lot of time to learn basic techniques and to complete my video editing.

In conclusion, I firmly argue that getting advice from an experienced person is the best way to overcome troubles than the other two choices. This is because the adviser can offer certain detailed tips to approach the problem, and because one can obtain solutions without consuming too much time.