The administrators of a university are revising their budget and have decided to change their funding priorities. As a result, the university will now spend more money on sports and athletic facilities than they do on the campus libraries. Do you think this is a good idea? Why or why not?

There are different ways in which schools can use their budget from academic to extracurricular uses. Personally, I believe that it is beneficial for the university to increase their spendings on sports and athletic activities. I feel this way for several reasons which I will explore in my subsequent essay.

Firstly, a university that maintains a balance between academic resources and athletic environments would be more attractive, which allows the school to attract more undergraduate students. Schools, especially universities, tend to focus a lot on academic aspects such as the library, so there tends to be an imbalance between funding spent on sports and studies. In addition, the university's libraries are generally organized and funded enough so there should be more scholarships and support on sports facilities. When students visit the school or read the university on the homepage, they not just view the study related aspects, but also the university’s sports facilities and how well they promote athletics. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. About four years ago, when I was deciding which middle and high school to attend to, I frequently visited several schools to determine which school seems to fit my interests. The school that I currently attend appealed to me the most because the academic support was great, but the school encouraged students to participate in extracurricular activities and clubs. The facility was well organized and there was sports funding as well. Therefore, because I got to know how this school encourages both studies and athletic clubs instead of just focusing on libraries and academic-related facilities that most schools tend to focus on, I found the school appealing. If the university hadn’t put forth on sports and athletic programs, I wouldn’t have attended a school that promotes extracurricular activities and engages in sports.

Secondly, a well-equipped gym will appeal to many students in the university, which allows them to use the facility to release their daily stress. Many university students are constantly pressured to succeed academically, so they should have time to rest and temporarily get away from the studying environment. Drawing from my experience, after I come back home once school finishes, I often go jogging around the park to have time to forget about academic-related topics and refresh my mind. Going to the gym and working out in general is an effective way to relieve stress, and there has been research showing that engaging in sports is advantageous to both physical and mental health. If I didn’t schedule some time to play athletic activities, I wouldn’t have been able to release my worries and concerns I have, which would lead to adverse effects if not relieved.

In conclusion, I firmly argue that funding on sports and athletic environments over libraries is critically important. This is because having a well-equipped gym and resources is one of the appealing points seen from high school students, and because participating in sports is able to lessen the students’ stress that they accumulate every day.