Question: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree with the statement that teachers were more appreciated and valued by the society in the past than they are nowadays.

To begin with, people nowadays tend to have higher critical thinking than, say, people in the mid 20th century when the World War Two went on. During that period, educational institutions endeavored to cultivating children's patriotism towards the nation and the sense of collectivism, the ability of cooperating rather than criticizing. The natural result is that teachers, the symbol of authority, were valued by both the students and the society, and the myth of teachers were established.

In addition, now with more access to the knowledge, students can easily figure out teachers' problem and break out the myth of teacher. In the past, students can only learn knowledge from their teachers, while now they learn more from online newspapers, TV dramas, social media like Twitter and Facebook, even video games. Furthermore, with the popularity of social media people now are exposed to more and more sexual harassment cases happened in schools from kindergarten to college. I can not say that there were not similar cases happened before the internet boom, what I try to say is that it is much easier than before to expose those vicious cases. People just need to post a photo, an article or a video online, and the tweet can have millions of views. And then the society tend to reflect the role of teachers, and cast doubt on whether they are ethical enough.

Also, because of the degradation of degrees, taking courses and pursuing higher degrees is not out of the respect to the intellectual or human wisdom, but out of finding more respected jobs. With the unemployment rate increasingly higher, in order to effectively decrease the unpleasant rate, the government encourage the youngsters to pursue high degrees to prolong the time at school and delay the time for hunting for jobs. The situation, thus, becomes a vicious circle, students have to study harder and harder in order to find their purposeful careers. Also, the process of learning has become very utilitarian, previous respect to teachers has vanquished and been supplemented by the sense of gaining mutual benefit.

In a nutshell, teachers nowadays are more difficult to be valued than those in the past because of peoples' better critical thinking, the breaking of the myth and the inflation of the value of the degrees.