Is relating well to others more important than

studying hard?

To earn a college degree or to have a proper education is most crucial to almost all people who want a decent job and a career-driven life. It is true that studying hard is important from many people’s perspectives. However, one does need interaction with others because a human by its definition is a social being that cannot live without help and support from others; isolation is the biggest enemy to those who determine not to survive but to thrive in their career path, for relating well to others almost equates to successful networking. In my opinion, having a good relationship with others is more important than studying hard.

To begin with, building a good relationship with others requires many social skills such as those of communication, body gesture, or emotion management, which in turn help you grow as a person with a growth mindset. It is not easy to become a grownup who is emotionally mature, and by means of making friends with those who are, from them you can actually learn many practical qualities and social skills, which are the know-how that textbooks do not generally include. Furthermore, by trying to make friends with those who are emotionally responsible, the attempt itself is a process of a mentality growing.

In addition to the importance of fostering social skills, networking is as well as crucial to one who desires career success. As we all know, earning a high-paid job has become harder by each day, and it does not only demand that candidates have good grades at school or high IQ in general but also requires the potential employees to be of social competence. I can well remember one of my friends Jack when he went to Shenzhen the big city looking for a well-paid job. Tough as it was for Jack, he tried every way to find an opportunity that could get him in the brand-name company he wanted and he did not give up. Later, Jack came across one of the managers of the company in a recruitment affair and jack presented him his exquisite eloquence even though jack did not know who was the manager working for. For jack had shown his upward-mobility and himself as a real eager-beaver, the manager grew to like him and with whom eventually became acquaintance. In the end, Jack was offered a chance of an interview and got a position in the company as he wished. What I can learn from his experience is that networking is more crucial than simply studying hard, for that knowledge such as those of physics or biology are not likely to help you get to your dream job any closer, and that to achieve success in one’s career demands that social acceptability which consists of various qualities but the most fundamental one, the ability to relate well with others.

Finally, relating to others well can in turn help your study. Although some may claim that in an ever-increasingly competitive world like this, it is essential to possess the mentality of continuing-studying, rather than simply making friends who end up being not quite really helpful with your self-improvement. The fallacy of that claim is the opponents ignore that one can always make friends with those who excel in their works or at school; having a good relationship with those who put efforts and their hearts into learning can actually help you realize the importance of study as well. Also, the so-called Feynman Technique, an approach that you can learn an abstract concept or a difficult skill through explaining it to your friends, indicates that studying not only demands one’s full heart in reading and writing but also requires strong interaction and fundamental communicative skills.