Should a city try to preserve its old, historic buildings or destroy them and replace them with modern buildings? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Urban planning and cities expansion is a hot trend in recent years and with this development an issue has been raised which provide the comparison between keeping old historical buildings with replacing them with new places. I agree with the statement that says we should preserve old constructions and I explain my view in following reasons.

First of all, the structures belong to past era of human being are symbol of history which include many stories that could teach many things to people. Archaeologists believe demolishing these fantastic masterpieces of our ancestors is equal to removing our identity and this has negative effect on children and future generations. For example an old building which has referred to one hundred years ago reminds to a young boy how his city is noble and how persons in that time were civilized and this makes him try to be a good person.

Secondly, diversity is a vital factor on spirit and mood of people and city planners and managers have focused on this technique of municipal management. Psychologists insist modernity is the most powerful enemy of variety because all subjects in a city inclined to be in determined style. For instance this is undeniable that skyscrapers in fashioned big cities are similar to each other and follow a unique format of construction and just different creative homes which have remained from many years ago may cease this homogenization.

In final words, tourists come to visit a city to see different history and culture which found in mansions and buildings of past times. Replacing them with modern towers resulted in reducing interest of a tourist to travel a city and this means revenue loss for the city. For example Cairo capital of Egypt is famous for travelers because presents culture of a country in two thousand years old region with architect mode of its structures and removing these valuable source of money generation is not a good decision.

In conclusion, we know technology force all nations to be updated even in building of their homes but they should resist with this unwanted result of industrialization by keeping their precious properties and try to make new objects in another area of their cities.