Should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways, or should governments spend more money on improving transportation (buses, trains, subways)? Why?

People who go to distant area, and commute to their school or job have many ways to reach their destination, two of which are driving an automobile which is at their disposal, and employing public service of transporting. Moreover, governments can influence their choice by expending funding for one of these things. Personally, I believe that the authorities need to spend more budget for public transportation. I have three rationales for holding this opinion, and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

Firstly, if the regime improves the condition of public transportation system, citizens will be willing to utilize it in order to satisfy their need, which may occasion trouble of pollution and congestion of highways. On the other hand, if the authorities enhance the situation of roads by keeping buses and metros in impoverished condition, individuals will prefer to drive their own vehicle. The more private cars are driven, the more air pollution will be in the particular area. Therefore, health condition of people will suffer from this detrimental substance in atmosphere. Needless to say, governments should take care of the health situation of citizens. More importantly, as I mentioned above, if the enormous number of local people utilize their private automobile, the roads and highways will be congested. By contrast, local transporting system will occasion less extent of problems for traffic jam. As a result of this, people will probably take advantage of their finite amount of time efficiently without consuming time on packed roads.

Finally, local transporting system is accessible for every citizens of the area, which signifies that people will benefit from the enhancement of public transportation equally. There are many individuals who are incapable of affording private vehicle because of their age or financial security. If statesmen increase the quality of only roads, people who are too indigent or young to drive cars will be forced to employ the public transporting method of impoverished quality. For instance, current situation of buses which is the only choice for citizens of my native country is poor and remote. However, I am still utilizing it in order to commute to my university because I am incapable of purchasing private car. If the president of Mongolia, my native nation, have spent fiscal for public transportation, many individuals who are unavailable to buy their own car would have taken advantage on the enhancement.

In summation, I am of the opinion of that governments have to expend revenue of taxation for local transporting situation. This is because less individuals will utilize their private automobile by producing pollution and posing traffic jam, and this decision is beneficial for nearly all citizens.