Should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways, or should governments spend more money on improving transportation (buses, trains, subways)? Why?

Nowadays, most people use vehicles in order to travel to distant areas or commuting to school or work. Of course, They use either public or private transportation in order to satisfy their need. However, governments are capable of influencing this choice by managing the budget efficiently. Personally, I believe that the authorities should expend more funding for public service of transporting. I have two rationales for holding this opinion, and I will explore these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, increasing condition and accessibility of roads instead of public vehicles will probably encourage citizens to utilize their own cars, so air pollution and traffic jam will increase. If the quality of public service is impoverished, most people will prefer to employ their own car in order not to experience the inadequate situation of public service. On the other hand, if they are aware of the fact that subways, buses or subways are of high quality while using their private automobile is difficult because of condition of roads, they will prefer to utilize these services. The less individuals use their own vehicle, the less pollution and congestion on road will be. The current circumstance of my nation, Mongolia, is a compelling example of this. In my country, the authorities of Mongolia expend the revenue of taxation mainly for roads rather than public transporting services. Thereby, these services, are poor and remote for citizens. Of course, most individuals drive their cars so that they can avert the unpleasant condition of transportation devoted for public. As a result of this, air pollution is at high level, which is detrimental for local people. Moreover, drivers spend hours on a road while commuting by virtue of packed roadway every day when they drive a car. If the regime devoted more money on public transportation, citizens would not have utilized their car by excreting smoke and causing traffic jam.

Secondly, public transportation of high quality will be accessible for every indigenous individual, so everyone will benefit from the enhancement of service similarly. By contrast, people of my country need to meet some requirements in order to drive their own vehicle such as being at least eighteen years old and available to purchase the car. Unfortunately, some individuals are incapable of driving a car in light of their age, or financial security. Therefore, they cannot benefit from the enhancement of highways as they are discriminated by aristocracies. For instance, I do not have enough money to buy private vehicle. Thus, only chance, that I have is, to use buses in order to commute to my university. Consequently, I am suffering from horrible aspects of public service as I mentioned above. Moreover, I am certain that many people like me who are incapable of driving are inevitably employing public service. If the statesmen of my nation expend more budget for enhancement of public service, these people will take advantage on this, and commute to their destination in comfortable situation, transportation of high quality.

In summation, I am of the opinion of that the authorities have to expend more fiscal for transporting system which service the all citizens of the particular area. This is because amount of air pollution and traffic jam will decrease, and people who cannot afford the private automobile will take advantage on this improvement as well.