TPO 31

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

In my opinion, brisk alteration of the technology, culture and community is affecting citizens largely, especially seriously and having severe influence for individuals. I feel this way for several main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, because technology is developing rapidly, workers and students are required to expend more time to keep up with advancement of science. For this reason, leisure of individuals have been declining in value, which causes them to spend less time with people whom they love or are intimate. Particularly, many students complain that they are consuming plenty of time for lesson and has small amount of time for recreation and sleep, which makes the life not enjoyable. For instance, some of my friends are struggling to get fine grade and rarely meeting with each other. When I met with them at last, they were complaining about how hard studying at university is. Most pupils except students as well as me who love learning and exploring new things are miserable about life. Moreover, even if they consume less time for studying, their grade and future will be displeasing for them.

Secondly, the modification of the technology and culture poses conflict between generations since their attitude toward matters are somewhat different. To be more specific, when the new trend and technology gets popular among young people, elders tend to criticizing the novel things and people who are favoring these things because they prefer preceding matters. For example, since the smartphone was released, senior people were holding negative opinion about the smartphone while adolescents utilize and take advantage on it. Therefore, parents are reprimanding their children for using new technology despite the fact that they are utilizing it for appropriate purpose such as studying and communicating. On the other hand, juveniles including me do not understand the reason why elders are not capable of using this. Moreover, this discrepancy of opinion posed friction between generations, which makes most people to be less satisfied.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion than most people are unhappy about their life and society because of alteration of the world. This is because things they perform is have increased greatly and conflict between generations are taking place.