Should students attend class in university or not?

T he need of having a broaden knowledge and more chance to attain a good job in future, push people to attend the universities after ending their high school. In the past, students had to attend the university classes physically, whereas, with the advent of technology, these days many of students have the choice to take online courses via computer and internet, without the need of going to campus. Many people believe that students should not attend classes when they can take online courses, while, others disagree. As far as I am concerned, attending to class is more beneficial for two important reasons.

In the first place, there are many subjects that are not in the textbooks and we need to attend class to learn them from our professors. They have a wide range of knowledge over the course materials and they can teach students a breadth of information more over than which is in the books. For example, when I was an undergraduate student, I took an online course. Although I studied it a lot, due to many ambiguous subjects which raised difficult new questions in my mind, I could not understand the book well and I dropped that course. Next semester I took it again and attended in the university class, the professor taught us the course through the lectures and we contributed to the class and I asked all my questions and professor explained and clarified them to me. I really mastered the course and This experience taught me, how much attending the class could be advantageous.

In the second place, students can broaden their knowledge when they cooperate with their classmates in group assignments and class discussions. Every student has his strong points to cover some part of the subject and when a group of them try to accomplish a task with each other, that will be done sharply and thoroughly. Moreover, this interaction between students can boost their self- confidence and help them to shed their fear of sharing their ideas in front of other people. As you can see, attending class has such important advantageous that you would never experience in an e-courses.

In conclusion, I believe that students in classes not only attain more knowledge from professors, but they also get information from their classmate’s ideas on the subjects as well as they could improve their social skills with their interaction. That is why I think that universities should compel students to attain class.