social media, such as TV, radio and newspaper provide people with wrong information and mislead socities?

In the last three decades, the world has been exposed to many problems. Some people believe that social media, such a TV news, newspaper and radio could contribute to finding solutions for a better society; however, others claim that modern media provides wrong information and misleads people, From a personal perspective, the latter point of view carries more weight given that current media press wants to control audience thoughts and earn more profits.

The first and foremost point, recently, social media has become very strong and could influence people’s opinions. To put it in other words, media press could not only mislead the public, but also limit their ability to think and analyze. A vivid example of that, the last presidential election in Egypt in 2013, Al Jazeera news channel allegedly biased coverage of news that related to Egypt and its government, it wanted to convince the world that Egypt did not have a democratic environment, in order to destroy Egypt’s image in the region. Provide that media press spread fake news, it could captivate people’s thoughts and restrict their ability to form an unbiased opinion about an incident.

Next, coupled with hegemony audience thoughts, making money is another reason why social media could mislead the public. Likewise, current media today shows people news that has a spice to attract them without taking the social problems into consideration. For instance, today social media all over the world could spread rumors about celebrities in order to grab public attention. Furthermore, many Egyptian channels consume the entire airtime to cove celebrities’ wedding; on the other hand, it does not represent the problems that face the Egyptian society. Although people want some entertainment through the media press, the balance should be maintained between both sides.

Taking everything into consideration; without a doubt, social media today misleads the public not only to dominate, but also to make money. It is suggested that media represents people voice and opinion rather than being selfish, greedy and power hunger.