Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

No one cast a shadow of doubt on the importance of getting good grades for students at school-age in modern societies. A controversial question which is often raised in this area is whether acclaiming student's good grades by giving them money is a good idea or not. Although some people are inclined towards the idea that it's one of the best-tested rewarding methods, I personally believe otherwise. Accordingly, in what follows I will try to provide some cogent reasons to support my statement.

First and foremost, rewarding children for one of each good grades they get is too much that some way in the road of applying this method, it will definitely lose its impact on student's attitude or even lead him to do the exact opposite of the usual action to be a rebellion and see the punishment instead. Psychologically speaking, according to a research that was conducted by the best neuroscientist in Germany, the repetition of an action in the response of a person's behavior, either reward or punishment, will not have a long-lasting effect on the subject because of the sense of routineness and its habitability. This ritual may lead the subject to act totally opposite of what he was doing since then to just break the rules and see the result of his attitude. Therefore, it is recommended to change the reward or punishment attitude toward children who specially go to school.

Another reason which I think is worthy to be mentioned is, rewarding good grades of a child is an external action and an external motivation for a student. As a matter of fact, these types of motivations will not last long and they have very damaging impacts on that person's future because in every step of their life they are waiting for others' endorsements. My own cousin was raised exactly through this method and I cannot remember a single time in which she was not confused and overwhelmed during making a decision; even the easy decisions like choosing a pair of pants! I vividly remember the time that she took a picture of a pair of pants and send it to me to have my blessing for buying it. It was both a funny and also sad moment actually because I witnessed how unconfident and fragile she become.

For the matter of conclusion, considering the mentioned reasons, I think if parents reward their children with money for each high grade they get in school is not the best idea. Although, it was just the story in a nutshell and there are definitely more reasons that should be considered. In the end, according to the importance of the topic, I think more studies should be done to evaluate this issue.