Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

School grades are the most important measurements for assessing the students' performance at school. So the students should be encouraged to study their lessons well to get a high score. This often brings up a controversial question: How can parents exhort their children to study more? In my point of view, parents can reward their children by giving them money. This will kill two birds with one stone: Children can learn the value of both education and money. What follows is an elaboration of my viewpoint.

Children learn that education is very important for their future development through the process of getting rewards from their parents for their better school results. That is to say, when parents give their children money, they encourage their children to study more. Consequently, the children gradually get accustomed to studying, and finally learn the value of education when they become older. For example, when I was 7 years old, my father paid me some money for my full score in my report card. The next years, I tried harder to get more money and I gradually become interested in studying my lessons and gaining knowledge. And that is how I got a hint from money, found out how important the education is in the future life and in facing better job opportunities, and continued my education.

Earning and spending money is a very difficult task nowadays that should be learned in childhood. This can happen through offering money by parents to their children for their school grades. In fact, children learn to spend the money that they have earned through hard work for a good result in school. This is similar to a career situation that children will face when they become adults. For instance, my friend used to write her expenses and the money that her parents gave her when she was at high school. She learned how to manage her money and had a huge saving when she finished her high school. Additionally, she is her own accountant right now and never has encountered financial problems due to her experience at high school.

Admittedly, payment of money for the best grades in school by parents poses some bad effects on children, including changing the children's priorities to money matters and making them to study the lessons superficially only to get a high score. Nonetheless, I believe that parents should reward their children's good results in school because new teaching and assessing methods can compensate the disadvantages of money rewards. Relevant statistics indicate that new methods have improved the way students study and made them to study the lessons practically and deeply.

Decisively, if one assess the aforementioned merits of offering money to children for their high grades, one soon realizes that it is worth to pay the money. In fact, rewarding children with money can result in better future life because children gradually become interested in education, continue their education and face better job opportunities. Furthermore, they learn to manage their income and expenses in the future by managing their money that they earned during childhood in school.