Some people believe that the Earth is being harmed (damaged) by human activity. Others feel that human activity makes the Earth a better place to live. What is your opinion? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Differently of others animals, the humans have the ability to think, to innovate and to have some physical movements that allows a better adequacy of the environment to their needs. Consequently, when the humans found that it is more beneficial to remain on the same place, they start to strongly change the area nearby. Since then, the human activity never stopped and it allows a longer and more comfortable life.

Since the humans stopped being nomads, they performed a lot of environmental changes which leaded to a better quality of life. House constructions, animal domestication, agriculture, commerce, creation of tools, energy and piped water are some examples of important changes made after the end of the nomadism. All these changes were crucial to permanence and progression of the specie, by allowing a safer, longer and better life. While nomads, the humans died very early because of the natural catastrophes, cold weather and infections.

The humans are all the time making more science progress and extending their knowledge and abilities to improve quality of life. Because of the discovery of antibiotics, for example, nowadays it is possible to treat a lot of disease which were synonymous of death in the past. In addition, the advance knowledge on civil engineer allows families to be safe living in constructions made to resist to the storms, thunders and other natural phenomena.

Locomotion is other important improvement made by human activity. After the creation of cars, boats and airplanes, people are able to go everywhere they want in a short period of time. Such advance provided the discovery of other lands in the world, as well as different kind of nature, people and culture. Besides that, the improvement of locomotion allows a linkage between people of different regions, phenomenon called globalization. For example, Americans consume products made in China, meanwhile Chineses are watching American movies. Also, it facilitates people’s transport between different parts of the world, expanding their knowledge of history, culture experiences and creating new social circles.

To sum up, I strongly believe that human activity improves quality of life. It is a fact that the human activity has also negative impact on the natural resources on Earth, however, it makes life better in many aspects, such as health, economic and social.