Some people think that the automobile caused serious problems. What is your opinion?

By and large, it is established beyond doubt that a major breakthrough was made in transportation by the advent of the automobile. This invention has helped people in recent decades to reach remote destinations as fast as possible. As a result, great automobile companies were established to satisfy the increasing demand, and until today, they are still competing to supply high-quality automobiles. As any product automobiles also have merits and demerits. Many people think that their merits are more than their demerits while others believe that it has caused serious problems for modern people. As far as I am concerned, automobiles have many disadvantages causing abundant problems for humans and nature. I am going to elaborate on my opinion in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, overusing automobiles is one of the factors causing air pollution. It has been proved by recent scientific researches that combusted gasses in an automobile engine pollutes the atmosphere. This pollution alters humans' and animals' life. Recent research claims that more than one over five cases of death in Tehran were related to air pollution disease. Many diseases, including breathing problems, asthma, and lung cancer, are the effect of harsh air pollution, especially in urban areas. Not only does air pollution affect the human’s health conditions, but also it changes nature and climate. Acidic rain and global warming are excellent examples illustrating the detrimental effect of air pollution. Thus, automobiles can adjust human life by causing fatal diseases and doing environmental damages.

The second reason is the heavy traffic caused by automobiles in large cities has disturbed many people. Since automobiles have provided an effortless way for transportation, many people started to use them widely. As a result, automobiles spread throughout the world immediately. Nowadays, traffic is one of the modern human’s issues, and people in large cities have been suffering from this problem since the automobiles’ advent. Moreover, every individual wastes a lot of time in traffic and could not complete their daily works. As a personal experience, two years ago, I had to be several days in a hospital to help my mother recover after her surgery. Once I noticed that the doctors are discussing a patient who had expired just a few moments after he arrived at the hospital. One of them was claiming that he had been stuck in traffic for more than two hours. Had he got to the hospital sooner, he might have been alive now.

To wrap it up, I believe that despite their great benefits, automobiles have made serious problems for modern humans, due to two crucial reasons; air pollution and traffic. To surmount these problems we can use other ways of transportation like bus, subway, etc.