Some people think that family is the most important influence on young adults. Other people think that friends are the most important influence in young adults. Which view do you agree with?

As a social being, we are always surrounded by friends and families. We are born and grow up among these people, so they are very close to us. Some people believe that friends are the most influence on young people. However, I believe that family members are the ones who play a significant role in young people’s lives.

To begin with, our family always has a great impact on us to shape our future lives. Our parents always give us information about the rules and behaviors that are accepted in our community. This way we learn to behave in certain ways, and know the difference between good manners and mischief. Furthermore, relatives and parents teach us about the customs of our community. It is through thousands of life situations and family discussions that norms, values, customs, traditions, and expectations are passed down to the youngster. The depth of relationship developed over the years through shared joys and sorrows, place family members in a close bond, which cannot easily be replaced by friends or anyone else.

Furthermore, young children usually tend to take advices from their family members when they face with a dilemma in their lives. Family members are a good choice to take advices as they know us very well. They know our abilities, our weaknesses, and our desires. Moreover, parents and older relative have got more experiences during their lives and they have a broader horizon. In many circumstances, they can give us helpful advices based on situation and our abilities. When it comes to me, when I face with a puzzling situation, my father is the first person I try take his advices, because I believe in his wise and vision.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that friends may exert great influence on young adults. They spend lot of times with each other to study, to play or to take a trip. Moreover, they share their feelings, ideas, and experiences and involved each other in their decisions. However, they have a narrow horizon and cannot help each other in many situation.