At some universities, students take part in making decisions about the issues that affect daily life of everyone on campus, such as how many hours that the libraries should be open each day or what kinds of food should be served in the cafeteria. But at some universities, experts are hired to make these decisions, students almost never involved. Which approach do you prefer and why.

In this day and age, people have been appealing to democracy in various fields, including universities, which represent the truth and hope of a country. Thus, whether students should be involved in the decision process of school fairs has raised heated debate in social media. As far as I am concerned, I firmly support that university committee should take students’ demands into consideration, and the most effective way is to let students take part in making decisions.

Initially, students can provide essential references for decision making, for they are considerably familiar with issues affecting their daily lives. As we can see, the keystone of decision making is to improve both the academic atmosphere and students’ living standard. Thus, suggestions from students contribute most to what and how actions should be carried out. More precisely, as for how many hours the libraries should be open, experts may set fixed opening hours, claiming that it is more convenient for the administration. However, students are sometimes overwhelmed by a large amount of tasks such as assignments, competitions and presentations, especially when final week is coming. Therefore, if libraries can flexibly adjust the opening hours and provide all-night studying space, students won’t have to study deep into the night outside school.

In addition, students’ involving in the decision making process enables committee’s plans to be executed more smoothly. Students are in favour of plans that they have participated in, so they will cooperate with faculties to conduct them. Nevertheless, if experts raise points which contradict students’ urgent needs, students will strive to prevent the committee from carrying out the plan. For instance, our university put forward a strict regulation, stating that students should return dorm before 11pm. To the committee’s surprise, students gathered to reject it. Obviously, experts neglected that some students have joined internship programmes and were required to travel for business, thus they at times cannot avoid returning late because of flight delay.

Granted, some one may assert that students are so irrational that they usually cannot see the whole picture of the problems and are inclined to raise some impractical advice. Plausible as it sounds, this opinion does not hold water. We cannot deny that experts with rich experience are more professional and considerable than students. However, students, who are the real host of their university, desire to obtain some degree of autonomy. Universities should believe that they can integrate their various knowledge with practice to build a beautiful campus.

In conclusion, as for the above mentioned factors, I contend that although experts’ perspectives are of vital importance, students should participate in the decision making. Only in this way can the newly proposed plan be supported by students and be carried out efficiently.