Some young children spend a great amount of their time practicing sports. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People have showed interest in sports since ancient times because it represents a good way to have fun and spend leisure time. At present, children spend a lot of time for doing sports, which can be beneficial or not. This is due to the fact that while sports is recommended for a good health, sometimes it can distract kids from other significant things. I will explain my statement in the following essay.

First and foremost, doing sports, especially from an early age is efficient in preventing children to become obese. Unfortunately, nowadays kids have bad habits when it comes for food because there are various tasty unhealthy foods. Moreover, according to international statistics, the number of children who suffer from obesity is progressively increasing. However, physical activities is a good method to burn calories, thus these are helpful for a wealthier life. For instance, my neighbor's daughter had some extra kilos and they decided to send her to a dance club. In a year she managed to lose ten kilograms, and she looked like a normal ten year old girl. Additionally, she became more active and had more energy. So, sports are efficacious to maintain a proper body weight.

On the other hand, children might prefer doing sports to studying, and as a result this can affect their future. While there are some talented children who can start a sport career, most of kids have no special skills in this field. In addition, if they start to neglect school there can be consequences as punishments and interdiction both from school and parents. My friends experience is a compelling example. Back in high school he used to be a brilliant student, especially at math. But he also liked to play volleyball and he became a part of the school team. Actually, he wanted to become one of the popular guys, and this was not possible if he acted as a nerd. After a while, his grades had gradually decreased and his parents forbade him to play volleyball. Conversely, he did not listen to them, and he secretly played volleyball. One day they won a local contest and team's picture was in newspapers, and his parents saw it. When confronted he lied and got punished for three months.

To summarize, sports offer advantages and disadvantages for kids. From one point of view, it can be beneficent for children's health, but the same time these activities can negatively interact with school, and consequently with their future.