As a student of university that has a long break between university semesters, the university requires all students to do one of the following for one month during the break:

1、Students must take a course on the subject that has no direct connection to their majors of study ( For example, a student majoring in engineering may take course in fine arts or social science.)

2、Students must volunteer to work in the university’s city or their hometowns to improve some aspects of life of the city or their own town. (For example, students may help local primary school children with their homework.) Which one do you think is more beneficial for students in their university? Why? Given detailed examples and reasons. Use your OWN words, do NOT use memorized examples.

Nowadays, there is a growing common belief that students in university should be equipped with not only academic knowledge of their major, but also some basic views of other subjects in respond to the social needs. However, the majority of people still holds that volunteering in their city or town is more sensible when it comes to spending a long holiday. Personally, I prefer the former idea: to ask students to attend classes on other subjects for the following reasons.

First and foremost, taking a course one has never learned about is beneficial for their future career and life. In other words, the rapid development of modern society suggests that it is not sufficient for a college student to know only about the subject of his major. Some simple and useful knowledge beyond one’s major will be needed in future career as well. For instance, my elder brother Jackson who was an economy major was required to have classes on computer for two months in a long break, which seemed as a waste of time at the first sight. Luckily, it was just because he applied some computer skills helped him get promoted as he solved a serious problem on an important meeting, using the knowledge he once studied in school. Therefore, the advantage of taking such courses should not be ignored.

Another point worth mentioning is that certain awareness on other subjects can indirectly facilitate individual’s study in his or her major. To be more concise, of great importance to students is the ability to learn knowledge in various fields, instead of sticking to just their major, since different knowledges are compatible and can in turn have a good impact on majors inapparently. Me myself is a good case in point as my major was Literature, while I was asked and chose to attend French courses for the whole break. Tired as I was, I found it actually assist in understanding French poems as well as several renowned writers deeper than ever. Thus, I cannot emphasis more about the necessity of opening your eyes to more new knowledge.

Admittedly, it would not hurt to do some voluntary activities such as cleaning the road in town in order to make students’ homeland a better one. Nevertheless, it requires a large amount of time and consistency to complete the work, which will certainly bother university students because their priority in school is to learn academically.

To put it into a nutshell, students are well-advised to have classes different from their major in the valuable break to accumulate skills for later career and the comprehensive understanding of other fields.