Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends

Although students are influenced by their teachers but I think that students are influenced more by their friends than their teachers. I believe this because of the following reasons.

First, the students spend more time with their friends than with their teachers. As a result, they get to know their friends more than they know their teachers. Although, the students may know the successes of their teachers but it with their friends that they actually realize the real struggle that they have to undergo to be successful. For example, when I was in Physical Therapy School at my University of Indianapolis and was struggling to pass then it was the effort that my friends were putting in their studies to pass that influenced me more than anything. Although, I had the example of my teachers that were successful Physical Therapists that had passed their exams but it was my friends that were studting hard that motivated me to study harder to pass my exams was more influencial for me.

Second reason is that the friends also tend to compete with each other in order to excel in their field. This competition among friends can be healthy and can not only help in getting motivated to learn and score more but also motivates in the long run to be more successful in the profession. Competition may make a person work harder and achieve more success and this helps in gaining recognition and respect among friends, family and society. The person that scores the highest marks influences others to score even higher next time. For example, when I entered my high school, I had difficulty with maths but some of my friends were good at it. So, I decided to study with them and they always used to compete with each other in order to score highest marks in the exams. I also began to like the competition and worked harder in the maths class. As a result, my grades began to improve and I was able to score high percentage in my finals because of the influence that my friends had on me.

Thirdly, friends tend to share their goals and ambitions in life with each other. So, when one friend succeeds in achieving his/her goals then they motivate other friends to work harder so that they may achieve their goals too. Achievements of one friends may influence other friends to achieve their goals too as they feel that if their friend can do it then they can do it too. For example, when I was in India and wanted to study in US but wasn't sure that I will be admitted in one of the prestigious University here or not. At this time, one of my close friends got admitted at a well known University and he motivated me to apply too. I got influenced and myself applied and also succeeded in gaining admission. If it was not his success and inspiration that influenced me then I may not have worked hard to pass exams and secure my admission.

Therefore, for the above reasons, I feel that students are more influenced by their friends as compared to their teachers. Friends serve as a real life examples that we see and interact regularly with and share our difficulties with. So their success is a bigger influence and helps to work harder towards ones own success too.