Taking a lot of time to make an important decision is viewed as a bad quality for a person to have. But now it is considered as a good quality of a person.

Through the ages, making decisions had been the key part of everyone’s life. Many people are of the opinion that the perspective of people toward slowly decision-making change through years from negative to positive. On the other hand, others cite that there is no difference between people’s opinion in the past and nowadays. I, as an individual, advocate the first group. I will pinpoint the most conspicuous aspects of this view in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, consulting with others is considered as time-consuming and weak point in the past which is necessary to make a critical decision these days. Although consulting with a qualified person have considerable benefits all the times, for years seeking for guidance had been viewed as a negative point. To clarify, the definition of being a strong person in the past was different from nowadays since kings were the most powerful one in the society which makes them the role model of people. Emperors decided in the dictator manner without listening to other’s advice. Therefore, deciding quickly without consultation was regular. Consequently, plenty of ordinary people followed this manner and if a wisdom one tried to ask for help, it considered as the failure in decision-making. Suppose a farmer who faced a dilemma about whether it is better to cultivate wheat or oat in order to have more profit. In this case, nowadays a clever farmer should consult with an expert who has information about climate and current market of grains. However, in the past, the farmer who decided quickly to cultivate one of the grains achieve prosperity.

Moreover, due to the simplicity of problems in the past, slow decision-making was a demerit. In other words, finding the best decision was straightforward because an intelligent person could find the solution quickly. Besides, contrary to popular belief, as time goes by, the advent of technologies neither help to make a decision nor simplify the problems. However, new problems which do not exist in the past arise. Accordingly, people require to think deeply to decide wisely, and it is undeniable that for making the right decision, one might think about various aspects. In my perspective, getting married is one of the most important decisions in life. In the past, couples marry with someone in their tribe, mostly cousins. So, the decision of marriage was not tough as now because couples came from the same family and they knew each other, and normal couples quickly make decisions. However, the emergence of the Internet creates a chance for individuals to find soul mate from different nations and cultures. In these circumstances, partners need more time to know each other and the people’s perspective about taking time for making decision changed because of increasing the complexity of decisions.

From what has been discussed above, I firmly believe that people’s opinion change during the time and taking time for making vital decisions do not consider as bad quality of a person and people are more likely need time to make a rational decision due to the need of consulting and increasing the complexity of problems.