In some countries, people are no longer allowed to smoke in many public places and office buildings. Do you think this is good rule or a bad rule?

Public rules have always been a matter of debate because they affect everyone and should take into account every individual’s rights. One of these important issues is whether or not smoking should be allowed in public places. I think that countries that have banned smoking in public places are doing a good job. Two reasons are provided in the following paragraphs.

First, smoking in public is a violation of non-smokers’ rights. Smoking is mostly considered a personal action among smokers. However, this idea is not correct, since cigarettes emit a lot of smoke into the surrounding environment. Anyone who is within a three-meter range of a smoker is exposed to their extremely unpleasant smoke. This is of course for open space. In a building, everyone in the whole building will be exposed to the smoke. As a result, this harmful addiction, that is smoking, will harm not only the smokers themselves but the people around too. Everyone is free to do whatever they want as long as they do not violate others’ freedom. Smoking is clearly a violation of non-smokers’ freedom, and it is rational to conclude that banning smoking in public places is a beneficial rule.

Second, exhibiting harmful and addictive habits in society may promote them. Cigarettes are highly addictive, and people, especially young ones, see and learn. Or at least they get curious. Children and teenagers like to act like “grown-ups”, and when they see “grown-ups” smoke in public, they categorize smoking as something “cool”. Since smoking is very addictive, trying it once may lead to a life- long addiction. Conclusively, we should not let teenagers and children be exposed to such harmful behaviors. The first step to that is banning smoking in public places. As a matter of fact, the same thing happened to me. I grew up in an environment where almost everyone smoked. I did not start smoking right away, but I always thought of smoking as interesting. Not surprisingly, I became a smoker in my early years as a college student. I smoked for years, and it was really hard to quit. Although there are many other important factors, in my case, the main one was my environment. If smoking had not been allowed in public places back then, I might have never become addicted.

All in all, smoking in public places has numerous downsides, and it is a wise decision not to allow it. Not only is smoking in public a direct violation of non- smokers’ freedom, but also it promotes this harmful habit.