Technology has made children less creative than the past

There was a time men had made technology possible and now is the time when it looks almost as if technology can make a man. Our extreme dependency on technological advancements has led us with advantages and diadvantages alike. While they have come to ease us with convenience, comfort and luxury, diminishing level of creativity has indeed been a price to pay, especially among the children, the younger generation. Not only has its dependency made the life easy but it has also made people lazy, children even more.

A very classic illustraition on how technology has corrupted the children of this generation is in the trend of how problem solving attitude has changed among them. For instance: when provided with an assignment to write an essay on importance of something as common as water, the first instinct of these kids is to open their gadgets and google "Importance of water". Despite having countless examples to explain in the essay through self reflection on day to day chores, they find it instinctively right to look for ready made answers. The availability of information in such kind no longer compels the children to think or anlayse by themselves and it has thus lead to reduction in utilization of their creativity. Same goes with almost every kind of problem solving attitude.

Another instinctive attitude children have developed ever since the technolgical development is the habit of looking for shortcuts or easy way outs. For example, when my younger brother is hungry, he finds it far more convenient to order food online and have it delivered in home rather than going through all the process of cooking food. The phone in his hand no longer sends him in kitchen to look for ingredients, get the correct amount, heat to right temperature or serve the dish in fanciful manners. Even though it easy to have food delivered, it is equally important for him to learn something as basic as cooking which is also quite a creative art in itself. Creativity is dead as phone brigns meals in houses.

As much as the culprit to finding shortcuts is designated as the technology, the fact that the kids are in fact exploring and finding ways for easy way out is not complete death of creativity yet. The more children have interacted with these advancements, the more they've learnt ways to adpat and adopt them in ways people of higher age find it quite difficut. It is in this aspect that the technology is still promoting creativity to some extent. However, this can righfully be attributed to the age of the people as children tend to learn faster and be more creative than older people. A child can find its way around an Uber service app faster than their grandparents. Hence, it can't be implied directly to the technology for higher creativity among children.

Hence, the advancements in technology have provided with shortcuts, accesibility and convenience to information and services that have led to development of habit and attitude among children of present generation in such a way that their creativity is by default sharply decreasing. It is in this regard creativity has been robbed off from children due to technology.