Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past.

We have witnessed technology taking leaps in just a few decades. Technology has advanced so much that now we have mobile phones that bring all of the world into our palm. With an introduction of technology into our lifestyle, this has resulted in some pros and cons especially on the minds of a child in its growing phase.

Children tend to spend more time indoors rather than playing and interacting with others outdoors. Video games or Mobile phones have become their incentives to stay inside the home. Being glued to the screen most of the time inhibits their minds to grow in many other necessary areas such as social interactions with other children, team building and playing sports which enhance their mental and physical health. For example, children who spend more time playing video games miss out on critical thinking they would have developed while playing Legos or puzzles etc. These board games help in brainstorming and thought-evoking processes which is critical in early development of a child and makes a child more creative. However, in the times when there was no technology, children were compelled to do activities that were beneficial for their creative part of the mind.

Children have started reading less and have started watching more TV. Reading books usually trains your mind as you learn new ideas, knowledge about different things, new vocabulary and it opens a new world of wisdom. On the other hand, watching cartoons and movies have made children addicted to them wanting to watch more and more. Children have started running away from books or indulging themselves in sketching, drawing or doing do-it-yourself projects.This has affected their creative aspect of mind. For example, the most notable scientists and artists were from the past who outlined the basics and concepts for us. They were non traditionalists who thought outside the box. They were able to do it because they had an inquisitive mind that searched for answers to their questions from an early age and then they grew into a creative person that brought something revolutionary to the world.