It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Knowledge is a powerful asset that not only revolutionizes the mind but also the communities and people around us. There should never be a limit or a cap to how much knowledge one can attain. The more knowledge one gains, the better one becomes at being informed about the surroundings, making wise decisions and bringing a positive addition to the society.

First, having extensive knowledge in various academic areas gives us more chances to explore what our true inner calling is. When we take courses ranging from the sciences of the human body to the study of machines and computers, it gives us an overview, more like a trailer before a movie, to demonstrate what each subject consists of. For example, when I was in high school, I took subjects within the Science category along with Business related courses. This gave me a dive into what my personal interests and strengths were. After taking exams, I knew where my passion was and I was able to make a clear choice for my career ahead. Since, I noticed I was naturally good with numbers and Mathematics, this aided in choosing Engineering as my career path. I was only able to make an informed decision because I already had experienced what other academic subjects had offered to me.

Second, having more knowledge on a variety of subjects also makes you more informative which is a great commodity to have in today’s era. Nowadays, many courses are interconnected with each other due to the advancement in technology. For example, a programmer working in a health industry would need to have knowledge on different biological components in order to simulate a pre-appointment doctor’s checkup. Furthermore, biology and electronics have now intertwined to give birth to a new field called bioengineering, which adopts the knowledge of biology and integrates it in electronics to produce prosthetic arms, prosthetic legs and various medical equipment like CT Scanners and MRI Scanners etcetera.

Therefore, I believe having knowledge in many different subjects of academics could prove very helpful, as a student and as an aspiring career professional.