TPO-08 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Although advertising on television offers a number of benefits to businesses by incorporating sound, images, and movement to make the whole package interesting for consumers, I totally agree with the statement that television advertising directed towards young children aged two to five should not be allowed. Harmful effects on children and pressure on parents are the two main drawbacks of television advertisements targeting children.

Firstly, television advertising targeted towards young children can be bad for their body as well as a mind. Research shows that children under the age of eight are unable to critically comprehend televised advertising messages and persuasive intent in advertising and hence are prone to accept advertiser messages as truthful, accurate and unbiased. This can lead to unhealthy eating habits as evidenced by today's youth obesity epidemic. For example, the most common products marketed to children are sugared cereals, candies, sweets, sodas and snack foods. Such advertising of unhealthy food products to young children contributes to poor nutritional habits that may last a lifetime and be a variable in the current epidemic of obesity among kids. Another area of sensitive advertising content involves commercials for violent media products such as motion pictures and video games. Such advertisements contribute to a violent media culture which increases the likelihood of youngsters' aggressive behavior and desensitizes children to real-world violence. Therefore, such kinds of television commercials are not good for children’s physical and mental health.

Secondly, television commercial targeted to young children can put pressure on parents perching decisions and instigate parent-child conflicts when parents deny their children's requests. The research on children's commercial recall and product preferences confirms that advertising does typically get young consumers to buy their products. Children recall content from the television commercials to which they've been exposed and preference for a product has been shown to occur with as little as a single commercial exposure and strengthened with repeated exposures. The team of psychologists with expertise in child development, cognitive psychology, and social psychology also found that children under the age of eight lack the cognitive development to understand the persuasive intent of television advertising and are uniquely susceptible to advertising's influence. Hence, parents are forced to buy items like costly branded clothes, shoes, toys and many more things.

Finally, for all these above- mentioned reasons, I strongly recommend that television advertising targeting children aged two to five should be restricted. Policymakers need to take steps to better protect young children from exposure to advertising because of the inherent unfairness of advertising to audiences who lack the capability to evaluate biased sources of information found in television commercials.