There are many different styles of classes at schools nowadays. Some students prefer classes where they interact with their teacher and with other students in debates and group assignments. Others prefer classes where they just listen to their teacher speak.

Which do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Make sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

There are many different learning styles, and it is important that we find classes that match our academic preferences. Personally, I believe that it is extremely beneficial to take classes which are very interactive. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, classes that include a lot of discussions develop our communication skills. Our long-term success depends on our ability to persuade others to accept our ideas and proposals, so it is critically important to seize opportunities to talk to a variety of people. If we do not practice this skill, we will never develop it. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. About ten years ago, I enrolled in a history class. At that time I had already taken many classes at university, but I was still very shy around strangers. However, after nine months of participating in debates, discussions and presentations in that class I came out of my shell and became a very confident public speaker. As a result, when I began my career following my graduation I excelled in group work and was seen by my supervisors as a natural leader. For this reason, I was quickly promoted within my company. I have been very successful at my workplace, and I owe it all to that wonderful class.

Secondly, classes that are very interactive help us to form connections with our classmates, and these can lead to future opportunities. When we regularly converse with our peers, we get to know their personalities. Consequently, we can even become very close friends with them. In contrast, when students just sit and passively listen to their professor, they are unlikely to get to know each other. For instance, when my brother was in college he took an information technology class that required a lot of group work. He spent two months that semester working on a programming project with two other students and during that time they all became very close. In fact, a year later they felt comfortable enough to actually form a company together. It has been six years since they founded that business and it is still very profitable.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that it is a great idea to take classes where students actually talk to each other and their professor. This is because they help us develop valuable skills and abilities, and because they help us form important social connections.