TPO-03 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friendship is a very important part of our lives. It is a vital building blocks in every human being because without it our world will be dull and meaningless. Some people believe that it is important to keep old friends while others disagree. In my opinion, it is of utmost importance to keep your old set of friends for two important reasons.

First of all, people in your past will guide you better in decision making because they know you better. In a sense, that they know what you are thinking and what your best approach would be in a certain problems you might encounter. For example, my college close friend Maria helps me when I have hard time decided on what path i would take in my career in Nursing. Also, we always talked almost every day and I share all my dreams and passion in life. Hence, when I'm in the confused stage of my career whether I would shift to other Job which pay will well, she talked to me and clear my mind and she quickly reminded me of my dreams way back in our college years that my dream is to be a Nurse. I got into realization of what I really want in life because of her help. I think if i would talk to new friends they would not understand me because they don't know me better just like old friends do.

Secondly, Old friends can be trusted with all your secrets, valuable information that should not be told to other person. In addition, they can give emotional support and always be there for you in times of need. For Instance, My friend in high school, Princess is always there for me whatever time I needed her. When my father passed away year 2008, my whole world came crashing down on me. She did not leave my side, her presence always comforted me and lifted my spirits up that my dad is in heaven and he is not feeling any pain. In addition, she gave me strength to move on with the death of my father and be happy because I have many people around me that will love and support me. I owe her everything, It was the most difficult time of my life and I surpassed it because of her emotional support.

To summarize, having old friends have more positive outcome rather to make new set of friends. This is because old friends truly knows you much better in terms of your likes and dislikes and they can be a great source of emotional support.