TPO-08 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

This issue has arisen much controversy among children health organizations. Some of them are of the belief that advertisements which aimed at children are beneficial for them. However, others have debates on its advantages. I personally go along with the idea that it should be banned for the following reasons.

To put my first reason forward, I should mention it provides kids with harmful hobbies. In other words, in advertising which has been shown eye-catching colors, it attracts the attention of younger kids comprehensively. Therefore children will find it as a play to enjoy it. While watching advertising and concentrating on it, they will be unable to pay attention to their surroundings. If this condition has continued and repeated more, it will lead to missing the environmental stimulus that play a vital role in kids' mind development. The research findings confirm that the children who are more prone to advertising or watching TV from an early age, are more likely to suffer from attention disorders in the future.

Another reason we must not ignore is that since children be influenced by advertisements easily, they will put pressure on their parents to buy them things. Even parents will often be compelled to buy something that they know it is not useful for their children. Meanwhile, it may probable that parents will be manipulated by advertising and encouraged to buy things for their kids, in spite of knowing their children do not need it. Therefore, it may lead to increasing the financial problem of family.

To put it all in a nutshell, since nowadays we live in a consumer culture, we face lots of advertising. I believe at least the advertising which directed towards young children, should be restricted. It suffices to mention that it causes children's mind distinguish it as a play and leads to family financial problems.