TPO-10 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Today computer games are very special to children in general, some of these computer games are beneficial such as brain storming games, some other games could be harmful if the child spend most of his day playing these games. I agree with the opinion that computer games could be a big waste of time and that children should not be allowed to play them more than an hour a day as they should spend their time in more useful activities such as the following.

First, Reading, Back in the days before introducing computer games, children used to read a lot which opens their minds to the world and help developing their knowledge. Even reading super power stories which many children like is good for their imagination skills. Unfortunately today children prefer to play computer games rather than reading which in my opinion is a waste of time.

Second, Today children prefer to stay at home to play computer games rather than going for out-doors sports, which affects their bodies and social life negatively. No doubts sports are very important for a healthy body and to get introduced to other children in order to make friends.

Third, children should have time to explore themselves, they need to know what are their hobbies and take good care of these hobbies. If the child spend most of his time playing computer games he will never get a chance to try different hobbies like art or music. Hobbies are very important for anybody on the long run, they help developing our personalities, they are our stress relief most of the time and they add value to the person's life.

In conclusion, Computer games are enjoyable and can be beneficial to the child's brain but too much of anything can be harmful. Parents should be cautious and set a limit of time for computer games so the child can Read, go for sports or practice some hobbies.