TPO-12 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

“ Knowledge has a beginning but no end” Reflecting us that due to our modern society, every day there are many things new such as inventions, new software, and many types of researches. If anyone said that I have much knowledge and information that is considered as a lie since in our life, every day you will learn more and more due to advanced technology. The issue whether it is better to have a broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one academic subject aroused much controversy between people with different ages, and different perspective. Some contend think that it is better for them to have knowledge in many subjects to gain a lot of information. However, in my opinion, I like to specialize in one subject due to each subject has a reasonable amount of knowledge to study and to be expert in your career since you acknowledge with all the knowledge about this field.

To begin with, “planning for the future because that is where you will spend the rest of your life” once said Martin Tawin reflecting us you have to plan which career you will attend. When you attend your college you have to specialize in one subject. Each subject subdivided into branch and sub-branch so it is considered as a reasonable amount to study, and focus on it. However, if you take more than one subject, you will get more distracted and can not focus on any of them. Studying one subject allow you to focus and study in deepen and maximize your learning skills; get involved in all branches, and absorb information easily. For example, If you study pharmacy school, there are many branches in this field such as pharmacology, pharmaceutical, medical branch, and pharmacokinetics, all of that needs a lot of efforts such as making many types of researches, studying hard, and be aware of all new in that field to be more all- a rounded. When you study one subject, you will be able to do a lot of internships every year in your schools to have a good experience.

In addition to the reasonable amount to study, any proper job needs one who has an expert in an specific field, not one who has only superficial knowledge. According to the example that I mentioned before Due to modern technology, scientists every day is making a new research to cure many diseases that were hard to cure it in the past. They are making a lot of experiments about that. Therefore, if you want to be good pharmacists, you will have to be aware of what the new is in this career such as new medicines name, drug-drug interaction, and adverse effects of many drugs. As in general, finding a good well decent job is requiring having a lot of knowledge, and to be aware of the new software and the new researches. However, if you study more than one subject, the schools do not give you deep knowledge about all subjects but give you a little information. So it is hard to become acknowledge in all of these subjects alone since they are many. Therefore, Studying one subject provides you the opportunity to spend more power on it to get much knowledge, and information since you are interested in it. As the result, you will be able to meet the society requirements such as a good efficiency, knowledgeable, and a lot of experiences. Thereby, you will contribute to the growth of the economy of our society.

On the other hand, many students think that it is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects therefore, you will gain a lot of knowledge in many fields, and you will have a lot of experiences which lead you to acquire the most valuable life lesson that led you to get success within a short period of time. All the information that the people got it about many academic fields, it surely will benefit the person who had it on the long run.

As all things considered, it is true that studying many academic subjects has a lot of benefits since the student will a acquire knowledge and a lot of information that will benefit them in the long run but specify in one subject is better because you will be able to focus more and hel you to be skillful in your field.