TPO-12 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Needless to say, today more students attend the colleges than the past. This brings us a highly controversial question surrounding the university courses whether it is advantageous to young people to have a broad knowledge of many academic subjects or not. I believe that students will benefit more if they specialize in a particular topic. The reasons behind this standpoint related to the future work, as well as the difficulty of subjects which I will elaborate on them in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, studying one specific subject is beneficial to the future career. In other words, nowadays, there are a lot of companies asking their job candidates to demonstrate a good understanding of a special subject area. Therefore, if young people become an expert in one specific subject, it is likely that they will be able to find a job in the future. My own experience provides an illuminating insight into this fact. Recently, I finished my bachelor degree in mechanical engineering at a recognized university and I immediately applied for a job vacancy in a big manufacturing company. The company's administrations asked me to show a good experience in a particular area, namely mechanic of material. I had good ability in this subject area, as I had several publications concerning the mechanic of material. Hence, I was employed as a senior engineer in the company. However, other applicants applying for the job position did not have a good skill in the aforementioned subject, and thus they were rejected. Not only did they employed in the manufacturing firm but also they could not find any employee in other industrial section. Consequently, deep knowledge in a special subject is beneficial for people' future profession since they can find an employee better.

The second point worth discussing related to the difficulty of the subject. In fact, reading several textbooks that do not focus on a particular topic is significantly difficult than reading one textbook related to one topic. Alternatively stated, it is difficult to read several books and prepare for the university examinations. One example will suffice to illustrate this point. When I was a university student, all of my friends were interested in choosing several elective courses which were not concentrated in a special subject. Nevertheless, I selected some courses connecting to one other and completing one other data. Thus, I was able to read a few books in order to prepare for exams, whereas my friend must read page by page of each book for the sake of taking tests. I heard that they had trouble finishing each book. They said me that they had not known the difficulty of reading several books before they chose courses. As a result of this, students will get in trouble if they select courses with diverse subjects.

In conclusion, according to above-mentioned factor, I contend that the good knowledge in one subject has benefits of finding a profession in the future and studying easier.