TPO 19- Independent Task

What an important aspect of human beings' lives which plays a prominent role in their prosperity, to a great extent, is knowledge. Although there is a consequence on its indisputable role, the best way of getting information is still a moot point. Germane to this fact, a question which is the matter of debate, a controversial one, is whether getting infromation from different news sources helps people in being well-informed. Although some people may be on the belief that it is not required, I am personally of the conviction that different sources provide us the opportuinity of being well-informed for two conspicuous reasons.

One compelling reason giving in favor of this thesis is that we will be able to be informed of much information. To elucidate more on this issue, it is obvious that each source of news focuses on specific topics. Thus, if we utilize many news sources, we will have access to a great deal of information that is essential to be well-informed. For instance, one of my friends is passionate about football, and he reads a newspaper every day to get information. But this newspapaer is specilized in politics. One day there was a big political event in our country, and the newspaper allocated many of its pages to this event. Therefore, they did not report a football match that was that day. Consequently, my friend did not become aware of the match and missed it. As you can see, if he utilized different news sources, my friend would be informed of the match.

Another reason which cannot go unnoticed is that by getting information from different news sources, we understand the events better. To shed some light on this premise, it is worth pointing out that each news source has its own reporters. On the other hand, we cannot turn a blind eye on the fact that every reporter has his own interpretations of events which are reflected in his reports. This means that if we get information from different news sources, we will read many points of views that help us in understanding better the truth. For example, last year there was an election in my country, Iran, in which there were two candidates. In order to obtain a better understanding of the candidates' opinoins, I checked five different newspapers and websites. This paved the way for me to make a better decision on whom should I vote to. Moreover, after the elecltion, I realized that many critics had a simillar chose with me. This taught me that if we get information from different sources, we will make better decisions.

To wrap it up, I am personally one of the propnents who cites a clear bias in favor of the theory that to be well-informed, it is essential to get information from many different news sources. To recapitulate the reasons, not only will we be able to have access to a huge amount of information, but also it helps us in obtaining a better understanding of the truth. To my way of thinking, every body should seeks information from different sources.