TPO-19 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In order to be well-informed, a person must get information from many different news resources. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Since technology has improved significantly, diverse resources are available for acquiring information. In this regard, some people believe that for being well-informed, utilization of different resources is required. On the other hand, some people hold the opposite idea. In my view, getting information from diverse sources is more beneficial. I will illustrate my reasons in the following.

The main reason why I hold this idea is that gaining information from different resources gives us this opportunity to obtain information thoroughly and very easily. Otherwise stated, diverse sources such as tv, radio, books, and magazines are more available and accessible for people in comparison with just one resource. hence, people can gather more information to have a better understanding of events. For instance, when I was a freshman, I had a project in my biology class which was about recent advancements in technology in the field of biology. I used different resources like internet, books, and also a tv channel which informed people of the latest improvements in technology. so, I was able to acquire adequate knowledge for my project and I accomplished my project on time. If I had not had access to different resources easily, definitely I was not capable of gaining enough information and finishing the project on time.

Another paramount reason why I hold this idea is that it is more reliable to get information from different resources. Alternatively stated, all the information in the world are released by people and it is probable that these people make some mistakes. inaccurate information may mislead a lot of people. so, in order to be sure about the accuracy of our information, we can get information from diverse resources and then, compare them with each other. hence, we have this opportunity to be aware of reliable resources. For example, one of my friends is an environmentalist and she wanted to write an article about deforestation. For this purpose, she just used the internet as a reference. After a while, so many critics sent an email to her because she had written some inaccurate information on her article. Had she used diverse resources for her article, she had never been criticized.

To put it briefly, based on what is mentioned before, no one can underestimate the effect of different news resources for people who want to be well-informed. gathering information from diverse resources is a reliable way of being sure about the accuracy of our information.