TPO-25 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Young people nowadays do not give enough time to helping their communities.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is undebatable that the rapid economic growth over the past decades has brought a lot of changes in our lives. Not only has it improved the facilities and constructions surrounding us, but it also has diminished or even eliminated some living ways that had exerted great influence on us in the past. Taking part in community activities, one of such ways, in my opinion, has been almost abandoned by the younger generation who devote more time on their work, parents and kids.

To begin with, working plays a dominant role in an adult’s life. A recent survey conducted by a prestigious newspaper reveals that 70 percent of people in China work at least 55 hours per week which is far more than the number ruled by law. One of the reasons for the overwork is that young people are compelled by their employers. To be more specific, their bosses threaten to fire those people, who are unable to protest in a country with relatively imperfect rule of law, if they refuse to extend their working hours. Another reason is that they work voluntarily for an extra payment. It is reasonable because the youngsters have to cover the living cost, such as rent, electricity, and food. After a day of work, they probably have no energy and time to serve for their community.

Furthermore, a majority of young people prefer to spend more time with their parents, who desperately desire to be accompanied by their offspring. Compared with the communities, parents have exerted a profound influence on the growth of the young, therefore it is unsurprising that the youth routinely visit their parents’ home on weekends. They can share every moment, like having a meal, sitting in front of the television and watching a movie together, which can further solidify the family bond as well as reduce the stress of the youth accumulated during their daily work.

Of course, their kids are as important as their parents for the youngsters. Since the importance of family education has been recognized by a growing number of adults, they are obliged to stay at home and teach their children some basic principles and knowledge. One may contend that people can free themselves from this work by hiring a tutor. Unfortunately, due to the fact that it is not a small overhead, many parents have no alternative but to accomplish the teaching task on their own in order not to aggravate their financial burden.

From the reasons aforementioned, not only their work but also their households cost most of the time of young people. Therefore it is reasonable that they cannot give enough time to helping their communities.