TPO 28 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents today are more involved in their children’s education than were parents in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can cast a shadow of doubt on the importance of the role which parents play in people’s lives. Since the dawn of humanity, parents have had the heavy burden of raising children in a decent manner. When it comes to this point, it is the question of many individuals that whether parents today are more engaged in their children’s education than were parents in the past. Personally speaking, I believe that nowadays, parents care more about the education of their kids. In what follows, two reasons will be given to shed light on my response.

The first reason of note is that the civilization of societies has decreased the number of children in modern families, and parents can dedicate more time to raising a child. Traditionally, all members of a family had to work hard for long hours a day on farms, and in factories. As a result, children were seen as the labour force. By the advent of novel technologies and mechanization of tasks, the need to hard work to survive has diminished, children are not considered as the workforces, and the number of children per family has decreased. Therefore, children can concentrate on their education and parents can pay more attention to the children.

Another noteworthy reason which comes to my mind is that nowadays, parents are more concerned about their children’s future jobs, and they investigate vast amounts of money on the children’s education to prepare them for the future workplace. Education is becoming more and more expensive these days. The tuition fees of schools, universities extra-curricular courses have increased in past decades. Finding a decent job requires excellent preparation and specialized skills which can be gained through studying at universities. Parents want to make sure that their children have high chances in the fiercely competitive atmosphere of finding a secure and prosperous job. With this in mind, they try to provide the best opportunities to their kids.

To recapitulate, we can conclude that parents are more engrossed in children’s education. This is because education can ensure them that their children can find decent jobs in future, so they spend more money and time on preparing children for being prosperous in adulthood.