TPO 28 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents today are more involved in their children’s education than were parents in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that in this complicated and progressive era in which we live, education and knowledge plays a crucial role in the destiny of the humankind. Some believe that parents today are more involved in their children's education while others stand on the other side, claim that there is no significant difference between today and pas parents. Personally speaking, I believe that nowadays, parents are more aware and care about their children's education. The reasons to illustrate my idea are elaborated upon hereunder.

Firstly, children are no more seen as the labor force, and they have extra time spending on different issues and learning new abilities. In the past time, family members had to work for hours a day all together in order to raise money, cultivate the crops, doing the herd issues, etc. Therefore, there was not enough time to dedicate to other activities rather than hard works on farms and factories. On the other side, by the advent of modern technologies and new lifestyles, the need to work twenty-four-hour to survive is diminished, and there are some extra times to spend on different activities. Hence, parents have more freedom to enroll their children in schools in order to learn many new things regardless of the fear of reducing a labor force.

Second, modern families are less crowded compared with the past, and parents can pay more attention to their children. By the changing of modern human lifestyle, the members of a family reduced increasingly, and the role of the children as a precious asset for parents is increased significantly. Hence, more percentage of family wealth is dedicated to children compared to the past, and the welfare of them goes up. As a result, education as an essential index for well-being plays a crucial role in parents decisions for their children. Consequently, they pay more attention to their children, enrolling them in different classes, activities, and workshops to equip them well with knowledge.

Finally, the speed of the raising of the modern inventions and technologies is unbelievable, and the key to succeeding in adaptation to this circumstance is being a well-educated person. The genesis of the internet and advanced technologies make the lives more complicated. Modern humankind needs to be familiar with new science, inventions, technologies, etc. to live better. Thus, parents reduce their anxieties about the future by keeping themselves involved in their children education in order to make a better future for them with less risk of being a loser facing new technologies.

In sum, I believe that modern parents care more about their children education since there is less need for the labor force, extra time avails, and adaptation to modern lifestyle is inevitable.