TPO-29 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To improve the quality of education, universities should spend money on salaries university professors. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

High-quality education was always a significant concern. According to this important issue, some people believe that increasing the salary of professors has a remarkable impact on this issue. Personally, I agree with this group. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, by enhancing their salary, professors can concentrate more on their careers. To explain more, nowadays, economical problems are a considerable matter and everyone wishes to be able to provide a comfortable life for himself and his family by his income. Therefore, more salary may lead to more concentration on and consideration in the job. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a student, I had a professor who had two different careers to support his life. Thus, he was always tired and in the class, he just taught us very fast and the quality of our learning was not important at all but after two years the university increased his income, so he gave up his second job and paid all his attention to the teaching and his class changed to the most energetic classes in the university. If his salary had not been increased, he would not have altered the class atmosphere.

Secondly, rising professors’ payments not only help them to believe in their social level but also improve their self-confidence, and therefore this can result in high-quality education. To clarify my point, feeling occupying in a prestigious career can cause the professor to feel more positive, productive, and self-confident, so they will try to achieve prosperity and this means that they continue to improve education quality. For instance, one of my friends is a lecturer at the university. Since he was not satisfied with his job and income, he was trying to find another job opportunity for himself but after two years and increasing his salary, he felt convinced with his job, so he did his best for the position and now he is one of the most well-known lecturers in that university.

In conclusion, I believe that increasing professors’ payment may develop the quality of education. This is because they can come across their living expenses with the salary and therefore pay more attention to what they do and of course they feel a higher level in the society, so they will try more to achieve success in their job.