Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Undeniably, a number of factors come into play when it comes to the quality of education in universities, schools, or any other educational institutes. What is more, the practitioners and policy makers in the field of education have always been concerned with a way to improve the quality of education. Some people hold the opinion that if universities pay higher salaries to the professors, a high-quality education will be achieved. Contrary to what these people believe, I am of the opinion that spending more money on the salaries of professors does not guarantee a better education. The reasons, including but not limited to the following, can substantiate my viewpoint.

To begin with, there is no connection between the amount of money a professor receives and the quality of his or her education. To be more specific, there are a lot of well-paid teachers in various universities; however, students are not satisfied with the way they teach and in fact the quality of education is poor. There is no disguising the fact that if teachers and university professors are not passionate with what they are doing, no matter how much they earn, the quality of education will be unchanged. My brother is a good example of this explanation. Having been graduated in the field of chemistry, he always wanted to start up a new company and has his own business. Nevertheless, he was offered a teaching job position in one of the well-known universities and the amount of salary he was being offered was tempting. He had never wanted to be a teacher, therefore, the primary ingredient of being a teacher- passion- was missed. Under such a circumstance, he was always bored with his classes and he confessed that the quality of education in that university dropped dramatically because the only thing the university cared about was a pay raise.

The next reason in line is that in order to improve the quality of education, a university should be equipped with high-tech and state-of-the-art equipment besides recruiting fresh teachers. In other words, when the university invest a considerable amount of budget on improving facilities, like laboratories, libraries, sport clubs to name but a few, it would be more efficacious than to spend money on the salaries of the professors. In addition, by recruiting fresh and young professors who are concerned with the future of their students and those who are familiar with working with novel technology, a better educational environment will be provided. As an illustration, I studied in Tehran University and I read from the university website that the dean of the university announced a pay raise for the professors hoping to improve the quality of education. However, sooner than expected, not only did not see any improvement, but they also found out that being secured with higher salaries, professors were not as hard working as they were before. Therefore, after a year or two, they improved the physics laboratory and employed quite a few new professors. The change in the quality of education was remarkable; it was exactly at that year when some of the students won the physics medal in international competitions.

To recap, taking the above-mentioned reasons and examples into account, I believe that spending more money on the income of professors cannot lead to an educational improvement. The reasons are twofold: teachers need to be passionate about their career to make a change, moreover, spending money on other sections of the university can be more fruitful.