TPO 41

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teachers play an important role in building the value of the students. I admit that there are a lot of opinions about this; however, teachers nowadays are not valued as much as they were in the past. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

To begin with, students nowadays do not tend to obey their teacher's directions. These days, the birth rate is decreasing, particularly in the developed county because it costs a lot of money to bring children up. Parents tend to overprotect their children and sometimes indulge their children. Moreover, some parents complain when their children are scolded at school. As a result, the authority of teachers at school is declining. The story that my cousin, Ken, told me is a compelling example of this. When he was a student at elementary school, a girl always disturbed the class by making noise. The teacher told her to stop doing this and scolded her. However, she did not do what she was told, and her parents complained about her teacher's order to the local school board. Consequently, the teacher had no choice but to stop scolding her.

Next, students nowadays can learn many subjects without a teacher at school. With the advent of inexpensive online courses, students nowadays have a wide variety of means to learn. This means that they do not have to rely on their teacher at school when they want to learn new things. Besides, teachers nowadays have to teach many kinds of things such as programming, English conversation. It is hard for them to be the best teacher in all of these fields. As a result, some students begin to learn at home by the Internet instead of going to school. For example, when I was a high school student, I want to learn to program deeply. However, our teacher did not have sufficient skills to provide a sophisticated programming course. I was frustrated about the quality of the lecture, and finally, I stopped going to school and began to take an online programming course. This example tells us that teachers at school are not valued.

In conclusion, I strongly feel that teachers are no longer valued as much as they were. This is because teachers cannot make their students follow strict rules, and there are a lot of ways to learn without teachers.