TPO 41-Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teacher plays a crucial role for one’s education in the society. Through the whole history, teacher's status has been always precious among people and community. Some argue that teachers are not valued as much as they were in the past. In my opinion, this is true at some extent. I feel this way for some reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

Primarily, taking about the past days, where it was hard to pursue a degree to become a teacher due to low economic situation of almost all the families. At that time, people could not able to afford higher education and adults were forced to start earning at early age rather than continuing their education. My grandfather was a compelling example of this. He was one of the intelligent students in his school and used to get first rank during among all the students, but he left his education after 12th grade because of the poor economic condition of his family. Not only that, but there were many of his friends had the same trouble and they also discontinue their further education. As a result, there were only few who were at the position of teacher and that is one of the reasons, in past, teachers were valued more compared to the present days.

Nowadays, education has become easier compared to the past. Also, people give less preference to teaching field because of the other highly valuable fields, such as medicines and engineering where the salaries are high, and adults would get job quickly as soon as they graduated from the universities. For example, I have graduated in medicine, and one of my school friend completed her bachelor in teaching field. I got a high salary job after a month of my graduation in one of the reputed hospitals in my city, but my friend got her job ten months after her graduation, and comparatively less salary. This is the reason why adults are more inclined toward the other fields, and teaching has become less appreciated field at present days.

Furthermore, with the lightning speed of technological evolution, internet has been widely used for education purpose. Teenagers can explore everything on internet ranging from their E-books, online education classes and online articles from where they get the knowledge as the same level as they get from teacher. For instance, my brother had to study English in order to get good grades in TOEFL. However, he started preparing for English speaking with some native speakers through internet application rather than taking coaching class from professionals. Thus, he could improve his English speaking in more efficient and effective way without paying fees for coaching class. On the contrary, in past days people did not have such options like internet, so they must have to attend coaching class from professional teachers. This is also the reason, teachers were given more respect compared to the present days.

To sum up, I strongly believe that teachers once had a prominent position in society. But due to the dramatically improving education level and technological evolution, teachers are less valued now.