TPO-41 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

By and large, teaching is the most difficult task in every society. Teachers have a vital function in every society in order to prepare students for their future life. In this regard, there is controversy among people regarding this fact that teachers were more appreciated by the society in the past than they are today. A popular belief in this regard is that teachers are more valued today and people will appreciate them more than the past, whereas the other group of people take a complete opposite view. Personally, I agree with the former. In the following reasons, I will attempt to support this idea through 2 reasons.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that people are now more literate than the past. The more literate people in a society, the more appreciation for teachers. In 100 years ago, the life conditions were quite different from now. Being literate was not an option and parents had not concern about their children's education. Children usually followed their ancestor's occupation. However, today, parents are more concerned about their children's education. They work hard in order to make enough money to register their children in a good school in order to provide a good situation for them to succeed. Hence, being literate is now more important than the past and literacy is more valuable for people. In this regard, teachers, who play a vital role in order to teach students, are now more appreciated and valued by the society than they were in the past.

The second reason which deserves some words here is that teachers play a vital role in preparing students for their future life. Children will go to school in order to learn whatever is needed for the future. Students are very significant for every society owing to the fact that they are the next generation of doctors and engineers. They are the ones who guarantee the prosperity of every country, so it is very important that they will be taught appropriately. In this regard, teachers play a vital role in preparation students. They must teach them whatever is needed for the future. Hence, it is very important for them to have enough knowledge about a wide variety of subjects. They must provide enough information regarding everything in order to teach students and answer their questions. Thus, since teachers are now more literate than the past and they have to prepare students for their future life, they are more appreciated today by the society than the past.

To put it everything in a nutshell, teachers are now more valued and appreciated than the past owing to the fact that people are now more literate and being literate is very important for them. Besides, teachers play a vital role in every society in order to prepare students for their future life. They must teach them whatever is needed, so it is necessary for them to be expert in a wide range of knowledge and as a result, they are now more appreciated than the past.